CS 371p Fall 2020: Michael Lee

Michael Lee
2 min readOct 24, 2020

What did you do this past week?

This past week I started working on and finished the Darwin project for this class, began working on my neural networks lab, and started working with my partner on our computer network security lab

What’s in your way?

This next week I’m aiming to complete all of the labs I am currently working on. I’m fairly confident that the Darwin assignment and my neural networks lab will be relatively straightforward but my network security project has been a big pain to make any progress in.

What will you do next week?

This next week, I’m really hoping to get a chance to relax and take a break from all the work I’ve been doing.

What was your experience of lambdas, initializations, std::initializer_list, and std::vector?

I thought the ideas behind lambdas, initializations, std::initializer_list, and std::vector were all very interesting. While lambdas and std::vector are things that you’ll likely find parallels to in almost every programming language, std::initializer_list is something that is relatively unique to cpp and the initialization problems that come with it are very interesting

What made you happy this week?

One thing that made me happy this week was being able to finish all of my work on time for the last cycle of tests and projects. Unfortunately, most of that has just been replaced with the next set of labs and assignments that I need to do.

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

With all of the cpp nuances that we are learning about in class up until now, I want to introduce a fun little site for anyone interested in this type of thing, cppquiz. There are a lot of things in the cpp standard that are often unintuitive and even if you think you know the language really well already there will definitely be something new that you learn from this site.

--

--